A river that flows through my heart

Being from Minnesota, I have a very deep connection with water. Minnesota is known for its thousands of lakes, which I greatly miss splashing around in during the Summer. Minnesota also has the headwaters of the mighty Mississippi river. So when traveling down to Louisiana is was quite an experience to follow the Mississippi river all the way down, and see how it grew along the way. I have noticed my connection to water is still quite prominent.  My housemates have noticed my love for water too, because I tend to take the longest showers in the house, oops. Some of my favorite things include taking walks by the lake in City park or gazing over the Mississippi River.

I have noticed that being around water calms me. I love to watch the shimmer of sunlight as it dances on top of the waves.  The water comes in beautiful hues of blues and greens. I yearn for the sound of the waves as they hit the shore. I also enjoy the cool feeling as water runs over my hands. My love for water runs deep in my soul.

I find that faith reminds me of a flowing  river. Sometimes its the gentleness of a small stream, or its the rushing waters of a waterfall. I feel that our faith is ever flowing. At times we may doubt our faith and cause the flow to be more of a trickle. Other times we may be so overflowing with faith that we end up gushing like Old Faithful. I don’t think there is anything wrong with changes in faith like this, if anything I believe it makes our relationship with God stronger.

  “Anyone who is thirsty may come to me! Anyone who believes in me may come and drink! For the Scriptures declare, ‘Rivers of living water will flow from his heart.” John 7:38

I’m happy to say this verse has really impacted me as I have grown in my faith these last months. It is a constant reminders that I need to come vulnerable and open to God and he will fill me and make me whole again.

 

Me, my sister Katie, and my Mom at the Mississippi River by the French Quarter

We had a retreat in Gulf Shores, AL with YAVS from Asheville, Little Rock, Nashville, Miami, and Atlanta

It was my first time at the Gulf coast, and I loved it.

and the sunsets were amazing!

img_1525

It was so great being reunitited with some of my YAV friends! This is Emily, Myself, Holly, Erik, and Patrick

Leave a Reply

