Being thankful for what I truly have

Well, Thanksgiving was a couple of weekends ago, which for me is probably one of the few times of the year I really take a good look over my life and figure out what I’m thankful for. It makes me sad that it takes a major holiday for me to really ponder all the good that is in my life, and this is coming from someone who thinks of themselves as an optimist. So, this year I stumbled upon an exercise that made me write down all I’m thankful for from the letters A-Z. I encourage everyone to click on the link here to do it too! I won’t share my whole list with you because that would make this blog way too long, but here are a few of my favorite ones.

B: Beauty in the world

D: Determination inside of me

F: Friends, family, and loved ones who will forever hold a place in my heart

J: Journeys I have experienced thus far

N: New Orleans as my new home

T: Talents I have been blessed with

R: Rest on the days that I need it

Z: Zingers I love to tell

 

This was very helpful for me, as it is hard to be so far away from loved ones and family over Thanksgiving. It very much helped me to see that I really am truly blessed to be able to have the opportunities I’ve come across. I also feel that we as humans tend not to focus on the good in our lives as much as we really should, but we focus on the bad instead without even realizing it. So, I’m challenging myself and others who want to join me to create a list (or use the one I have on this page),fill it out, and hang it somewhere you will see it everyday as a constant reminder to yourself of all that you have been blessed with!

I am so thankful of the work I am doing here In New Orleans, and all that I am learning by this opportunity I have been given. I’m also thankful for everyone who is supporting me through this year and my journey.  Most of all, I’m thankful for God and my faith, and how much is has grown already, in doing His work through me. So, I leave you all with one of my favorites Bible verses to go out and share what you are truly grateful for!

Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him. -Colossians 3:17

One of my students and the sock turkey he made

 

One comment

  1. Peter Mann · December 13, 2015

    Hi Mindy,

    God sent me to my Google Social segment and there you were with a new blog. Sounds like you are growing up even MORE in N.O. Glad you are loving your new home and hope to see you in MN over Christmas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

