Who is teaching who?

It has been about a month since I last posted on here. I’m still enjoying my positions tutoring. I feel that my students teach me more every day than I’m actually teaching them. I also find it so refreshing that on a daily basis, we talk in-depth about such raw subjects like gun violence, homelessness, poor education systems, eating disorders, politics, and so many more issues that plague the world today that if I kept listing them it would take up this whole page.

Today, I sat in on a conversation my fifth and sixth graders had about the presidential candidates yesterday. I’m just shocked that the kids are even interested in talking about things like this.  When I was in sixth grade and had the choice to talk about politics or eat crickets, I would be hoping that the crickets would be tasty (which, by the way, I have had the opportunity to eat crickets lately, but I will explain that at the end).  Yet here my students are chatting about something that they really have no say or vote in but they are so passionate about. So here I am as a 25-year-old who obviously has the ability to vote and take part in this process, yet I’m counting down the days for it to be over because I’m already tired of hearing about it.  All of this made me take a step back for a second to realize: why is it that these kids care about what’s going on in the world, and not focus in the things that really only affect them on a singular level? So does this mean that maybe I’m not widening my view enough, and need to focus more on worldly things, and less on the things I can touch?

Chocolate covered crickets we got to try at the Insectarium

One of my students eating a cricket

I have also been learning and teaching about patience. I have always struggled with being patient, and in this day and age, with everything so fast paced and on the go, being patient is a constant struggle. I am learning to be patient by not expecting my students to understand everything after I teach them the first time, and not seeing overnight results in my students’ grades because i started to help them.  I at the same time am teaching them patience, too, like when we made lava lamps this week with water, oil, food coloring, and alkali seltzer tablets. My students were so excited to see what would happen that they struggled to wait the 10 minutes it took for the water and oil to separate after we poured them into the bottle. I believe that patience is something all of us struggle with, and we will never quite overcome it. A quote that helps me with this is from an old Proverb that states, “All good things come to he who waits.” I really enjoy this quote because it reminds me to slow down my life and be patient for what is going to come my way next.

Finally, I’m going to leave you with this quote that has really had a lot of meaning in my life these last weeks as I have been finding my place in New Orleans.

“Each person comes in to the world with a specific destiny. They have something to fulfill, some message has to be delivered, some work has to be completed. You are not here accidentally, You are here meaningfully. There is a purpose behind you. The whole intends to do something through you.” -Osho Rajneesh

Colorful beatles at the Insectarium

Skyline of New Orleans

Sunset over the Mississippi River

Some of the girls enjoying the sun at the South Carolina Flood Relief Benifit

We found him at the South Louisana Presbytery meeting

Leave a Reply

