Settling In

Well, as of today, I have been working at my site for two weeks and living in New Orleans for almost a month. Wow, time is already going by too fast. I guess I should at least tell you about my job here. I actually have two jobs. I work at De La Salle High School where I tutor any students struggling with their studies. My second job is helping to run an after-school tutoring program for kindergarten through sixth grade called Mid City Ministries that is run out of the Carrollton Avenue Church of Christ. I am enjoying both very much.  It was a little scary at first to be a tutor, mostly because I haven’t studied most of the subjects in so long. As time goes on, it’s slowly coming back to me. I do have to say though I have had a little bit of the a culture shock with how willing people are to talk about major issues that face them down here, like race, homelessness, gun violence, and a failing education system. I feel like talking about these issues so openly in Minnesota is almost taboo. I am loving the city down here too.  It has such a unique style in the people, food, art, and music. New Orleans has its own flavor and I just cant get enough! I’m also settling in to my new house with all my new roommates (there are seven of them). At first community living was really scary to me, but so far there haven’t been issues in my house. I’m super happy about that and hoping it stays that way for as long as possible. I do have to say I am very happy it has started to cool down a bit here to between 80 and 90 degrees and the humidity isn’t as bad as it was when I first arrived here. Finally, I do want to just thank God again for this wonderful opportunity, to experience and live in such a great and resilient city.

Colorful house in French Quarter

Colorful house in French Quarter

Sunset

Sunset

Bands just pop up everywhere!

Bands just pop up everywhere!

Building in French Quarter

Building in French Quarter

Jackson Square

Jackson Square

Mardi Gras Costume

Mardi Gras Costume

Girls night out for my Birthday!

Girls night out for my Birthday!

Leave a Reply

